Splunk Search

Creating usage reports from logfiles

huaraz
Explorer

Hi,

I am new to splunk and heard it can do nearly every type of reporting. I have an ADSL router creating logs in the following format:

Aug 25 23:00:22 Vigor: Local User: 192.168.1.8:50829 -> 212.58.244.67:80 (TCP)Web

How can I create a pie chart showing for each source (e.g. 192.168.1.8) to which destinations (e.g. 212.58.244.67) they went.

I can import the logs and select the appropriate lines, but I don't know I can define variables (are these fields in splunk ?) for src and dst and plot them.

Thank you
Markus

I read a bit about custom fields. I see without any search regex the follwoing events
Aug 25 23:00:22 Vigor: Local User: 192.168.1.8:50829 -> 212.58.244.67:80 (TCP)Web host=ip-10-17-23-243 Options| sourcetype=router-kiwi Options| source=/home/markus/data/router-kiwi-2011-08-25.txt Options

I created the following field extractions for host ip-10-17-23-243 (as it forces me to use either host, source or sourcetype)

"User:\s*(?<mysrc>:.*)
and
->\s*(?<mydst>:.*)"

But when I create a search mysrc="192.168.1.8" I don't get anything. What do I do wrong ?
How can I check the fields are correct ? When I do a search with | rex field=_raw "User:\s*(?<mysrc>:.*) ->\s*(?<mydst>:.*)" I don't get an error, but I also don't know what is mysrc nor mysdst.

Markus

Tags (1)
0 Karma
1 Solution

chris
Motivator

Hi Huaraz

To extract the ips you can try to add this to your search:
| rex field=_raw "User:\s+(?<src>\d{1,3}\.\d{1,3}\.\d{1,3}\.\d{1,3}).*\s+->\s+(?<dst>\d{1,3}\.\d{1,3}\.\d{1,3}\.\d{1,3})"

Splunk doesn't tell you that the regex you apply to a search is not working the way you want, because it can only detect syntax errors.

There are different ways to get the desired result:

1. Check if the fields you just tried to create appear in the List if you click on "Pick fields" to the left of your search results (check the values that were found)