Splunk Search

Creating a timeline showing when someone log out and login?

toaijala
Explorer

Hi, I'm quite new to splunk, but I'm able to create the needed fields and make basic reports. Timelines I don't know how to do.

I have a logfile basically looking simplified like this (it's all in one file)
timestamp, user, loginstatus
timestamp, user, action

e.g.
2016/10/12 09:13:18, john, login
2016/10/12 09:14:10, john, read_data
2016/10/12 09:15:20, john, write_data
2016/10/12 09:16:08, marc, login
2016/10/12 09:16:11, john, logout
2016/10/12 09:17:13, john, read_data
2016/10/12 09:20:13, marc, read_data
2016/10/12 09:21:18, marc, logout

Now lets assume I have a situation where johns account is doing stuff even if his status is logout as you can see in my example (the last entry by john ). How can I visualize in a timeline in Splunk?

I was thinking maybe a timeline where all users login and logout is a drawn line (for each) on the timeline and the other actions (read/write) are shown as dots/markers on the timeline with matching color to user, so it's easy to visualize that e.g. blue markers (actions) are outside the login period of user john (blue).

Any help in how to create this timeline?

1 Solution

toaijala
Explorer

Final answer that was satisfactory for me:

For visualization I used two timelines:

index=_* OR index=* sourcetype=data1 login_status="login" OR login_status="login" | table _time username login_status
 index=_* OR index=* sourcetype=data1 action="read" OR laction="write" | table _time username action

And for for finding anomalies between logins and reporting them nicely:

index=* source=data1 | transaction user mvlist=t startswith="login_status=logoff" endswith="login_status=login" | eval
user=mvdedup(user) | table Event_time, user, actiontype, login_status | where actiontype="view" OR actiontype="write"

A big thank you to DEAD_BEEF and the rest for helping me finding a satisfactory solution.

View solution in original post

sideview