Splunk Search

Creating Custom Accelerated Data Models

cyberdiver
Explorer

LOOK FOR BOLD for quick overview:

I want to control the index-time extraction for events linked to an accelerated data model...

I am relatively new to Splunk, and recently I've jumped into Accelerated Data Models.  I understand a number of aspects about them already:

• How they differ from regular data models
  • How they do index time extractions
  • Stored in HPAS
  • Populated by scheduled searches

What I don't understand is how those summaries for the Accelerated Data Models are built.  I understand that ADMs use tsidx files as the summaries of the raw data.

"Each search you run scans tsidx files for the search keywords and uses their location references to retrieve from the rawdata file the events to which those keywords refer.  Splunk Enterprise creates a separate set of tsidx files for data model acceleration. In this case, it uses the tsidx files as summaries of the data returned by the data model."

What I don't understand is how the connection to the raw data and the .tsidx files is made.   How are the .tsidx files formed from the event data?

When I look at the data models object hierarchy in settings I see the fields that it encompasses:

cyberdiver_0-1635023080749.png

When I do a search like:

| datamodel Intrusion_Detection search

If I'm correct, it is giving me the search time extraction from indexes related to the accelerated model. 

The problem is that I get a lot of fields that are useless in cyber security efforts.  For instance, maybe I want to know the category of the different attacks that are occurring.  It is a calculated field in my accelerated data model.  The calculation goes - if( isnull(category) OR category="","unknown",category.  This means it will return the category unless there is none.  I also don't understand where it gets this variable "category".  How is that being pulled from the raw data?

cyberdiver_0-1635024781474.png