Splunk Search

Count occurrences of sourceA fieldA against sourceB fieldB

DaJuDeLa
Engager

OK my first question, i'm a relative SPLUNK newbie- I thought I was good at SQL syntax but I'm lost here ;-(

I have a source feed from a bluecoat proxy and I have a simple text (ofinterest.csv) file which we hold a list of urls of interest one per line.

What I need to generate is a table which lists which of the ofinterest urls have been visited and how many times -
One of my problems are that the url in ofinterest.csv will only be something like facebook.com
whereas the url in the bluecoat log will be something like

http://facebook.com/something%20or%20other.asp?login

so an exact match to field names won't work.

Anyway I've been playing around with a search like

sourcetype=OfInt | eval int=url_item | eval src1="Y" | table int scr1 | join type=outer [search sourcetype=BCLogs | dedup cs_host | eval url=cs_host | eval src2 = "Y" | table url src2 ]|stats count url

Pretty basic I know - I cant get the count to work (how many bluecoat entries contain an ofinterest.csv entry) let alone work with part fields

Any help appreciated.

Tags (1)
0 Karma
1 Solution

lguinn2
Legend

First, I would set up the CSV file as a lookup table if this is a relatively static list of URLs that you want to search. Splunk is best at indexing time-based data - your CSV file doesn't sound like time-based data.

Here is the tutorial for using field lookups. Follow the tutorial, but don't make the lookup automatic. Just load the csv file and define the lookup. In my example below, I will assume that you have defined a lookup called url_lookup

Now, if you have less than 100 items in the list, the easiest way to search for what you want may be this:

sourcetype=BCLogs [ | inputlookup url_lookup ] | stats count by url

This selects the items in the lookup table, strings them together with 'OR's and then inserts the whole thing into the initial search of the bluecoat logs.