Splunk Search

Can these Splunk queries be modified using tstats?

mahesh27
Communicator

Hi all,

I have few queries to be modified using tstats:
I am new to splunk, please let me know whether these queries can be converted into tstats.

Query1:
index=abc  "NEW"  "/resource/page"  appname=ui OR appname=uz  |stats  avg(response_time).

Query2:
index=abc  sourcetype=abc  host=ghjy   "transaction" NOT "user" |stats avg(ResponseTime)

Query3:
index=abc  iru=/resiurce/page  appname=ui NOT 1234 NOT 1991 NOT 2022 "Bank status" |stats count

Labels (1)
Tags (1)
0 Karma

richgalloway
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

It's unlikely any of those queries can use tstats.  The tstats commands uses indexed fields for its searches, which means the 'appname' field would have to be extracted at index-time.  The bigger issue, however, is the searches for string literals ("transaction", for example).  Such a search requires the _raw field be in the tsidx files, but it is not.

---
If this reply helps you, Karma would be appreciated.
0 Karma

mahesh27
Communicator

Hi @richgalloway , As u said "The tstats commands uses indexed fields for its searches, which means the 'appname' field would have to be extracted at index-time."  thats true.

but if u see my Query2:
index=abc  sourcetype=abc  host=ghjy   "transaction" NOT "user" |stats avg(ResponseTime)

for this we have "transaction" and "user" keyword in the raw data.

So, i tried using tstats here like below:

|tstats count where index=abc  sourcetype=abc  host=ghjy TERM(transaction) NOT TERM(user)  

i am getting the results.

but when i tried adding stats avg(ResponseTime) i am not getting results like below:

|tstats count where index=abc  sourcetype=abc  host=ghjy TERM(transaction) NOT TERM(user)  
|stats avg(ResponseTime)

here just i want to get the average response time from the above query.

please let me know, how can i do that

Tags (1)

yuanliu
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

@mahesh27 wrote: