Splunk Search

Can't extract fields names from tab delimited source

nosignal
Explorer

Hi. I'm new to Splunk. I've got basic import and searching working on the windows install, but I want to get the field names too, and 9 attempts later, I still can't get it to work.

I'm starting with a tab-delimited text file as source. E.g.:

19/09/2011 20:39:30 Red         Square      
19/09/2011 22:04:02 Green   Bob Square      
19/09/2011 22:05:26 Blue            Triangle        

Note: some field values are empty for some events.
I did not include the field names in the first line - I read about CHECK_FOR_HEADER causing more problems than it is worth.

I add the data via the Splunk web interface: "Add data" -> "A file or directory of files" -> "Consume any file on this Splunk server" -> "Preview data before indexing"...

Trying "Start a new source type" -> "adjust timestamp and event break settings" -> "Every line is one event ex: access logs"
Did not import the field names, which is understandable.

I've never seen my field names come in properly, but I am looking for them in the search results page below "Field discovery is: On" - when I "View all Fields", none of them have field names I care about. I also try changing to "Table View" and all of the data is still under one column called "_raw".

So I followed the instructions here and edited the files at $SPLUNK_HOME/etc/system/local to include this in props.conf:

[My Source Type 1]
MAX_TIMESTAMP_LOOKAHEAD = 20
NO_BINARY_CHECK = 1
SHOULD_LINEMERGE = false
pulldown_type = 1
REPORT-myname = mydelim

And include this in transforms.conf:

[mydelim]
DELIMS = "\t"
FIELDS = "TimeStamp","Colour","First Name","Shape"

I also tried

[mydelim]
DELIMS = "\t"
FIELDS = f1,f2,f3,f4

I had to restart the splunk server to get the changes to be recognised.
Then I followed the same procedure above for adding data, but this time chose "Apply an existing source type" and chose "My Source Type 1".