Splunk Search

Can someone help with a sample search to find Stale Active Users in Active Directory?

Bobmc
Observer

Hello, I'm a bit new to Splunk and I'm trying to run a query that shows me users in Active directory that are still enabled but haven't logged in for past 30 days.  I've tried searching through varies post but none seem to be exactly what I'm looking for.  I may have overlooked it so If someone can point me in the right direction or provide a sample query to get me started I'd be very grateful.

Thanks,
Bob

Labels (1)
0 Karma

Bobmc
Observer

Thanks @andrew_nelson ..unfortunantly though we do not have this Add on installed and due to our environment I'm not able to install this anytime soon.  We've recently moved our Splunk instance to a cloud provided and I'm doubtful it will be done before my deadline to provide this data to management.  Is there a query, without this addon that will work?

Thanks,
Bob

0 Karma

andrew_nelson
Communicator

Without a direct connection to AD and without knowing your environment, I can't provide another definitive way to get you the data that you need from Splunk.

You may be able to pull AD with a PowerShell script into a csv and upload to Splunk. A PS forum would be better suited to assisting with that part though. 
I'm not sure the AD export option will format some fields like lastLogon and userAccountControl so there would be a few extra steps.

0 Karma

Bobmc
Observer

My AD boxes are reporting to Splunk, however it just the event log data.  So I can pull data on Event IDs such as 4624 (successful login) but formatting that so it only shows accounts that haven't done that for a period of time and do not have the Event ID 4725 (account was disabled) associated to it is my issue.   I hope that helps make some sense.. 

Thanks
Bob

0 Karma

yuanliu
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust