Splunk Search

Appending lookup fields into search

weetabixsplunk
Explorer

Hi guys,

I'm a splunk noob here and I'm going nuts. I know this is an extremely simple search and I can't get it right.
I'm trying to create a search for remote access applications based on our firewall index.

IP cidr will be pulled from a lookup file (network_assets.csv) and matching to the source ip from my events. There's fields from the lookup file that do not exist in the events. I'm particullarly interested in adding this field called usertags (which is included in the lookup). 

I am using these links as a reference and I can't get it to work.
https://community.splunk.com/t5/Splunk-Search/How-do-I-append-columns-to-a-search-via-inputlookup-wh...

index=fw
| search appcat=Remote.Access
| search app!="RDP" AND app!="WMI.DCERPC"
| lookup network_assets.csv cidr
| eval cidr=src
| search usertags="*server*"
| table src dest app url appcat usertags

My search currently does not give me any results. Any help would be much appreciated

Labels (3)
0 Karma
1 Solution

richgalloway
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

It would help to see a sample event or two and a sample row or two from the lookup file. 

It would help immensely if you explained what is meant by "can't get it to work".  What results do you get and how do they not meet expectation?

If the lookup file contains CIDR addresses and the index does not then a lookup definition should be created so you can enable CIDR lookups.  If that's the case then let us know so we can go into detail on that.

FTR, search performance can be improved by moving the search commands into the base search.

index=fw appcat=Remote.Access app!="RDP" app!="WMI.DCERPC"
| eval cidr=src
---
If this reply helps you, Karma would be appreciated.

View solution in original post

pbarbuto
Path Finder

try "| lookup network_assets.csv OUTPUT cidr AS src"

0 Karma

richgalloway
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust