Splunk SOAR (f.k.a. Phantom)

Recommendations for naming conventions and organization of playbooks in Phantom?

willhart802
Engager

I'm very new to Phantom. Can someone provide some guidance or advice for naming playbooks and what has worked or hasn't worked? We will be starting with a small team that may grow larger working on various playbooks for the SOC.

I come from a coding background so I'm trying to keep things organized and consistent. I've typically used a folder structure to organize files, but it doesn't appear that this can be done. I see there are other fields we can use, but I'm not sure if we should use these fields for organization for the development of playbooks. There are labels, tags, categories, and Repo's.

Anyway, can some experts out there provide some guidance or share your naming conventions and what other fields you're using?

I was thinking of something like the following for playbook names:

usage_dataType_app_description

usage: Who is using it, is this a playbook for the SOC to use or a playbook that's used just by other playbooks to call apps and return data.
dataType: Is this for Emails, Web, URL, Files, etc.
app: What app this is calling or what we're connecting to (LDAP, API, etc).
description: Short, few word description like UrlAnalysis.

Thanks, guys.

Labels (2)
0 Karma

Not_Greg
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Our naming Convention:

(Prod/Development/Depracated) - (Utility / Reporting / Enhancement)  - (Active / null) - (Notable Name / Description)

So
PRD-UTL-Active-SplunkES Ack
or
DEV-RPT-Threat Malware Emailed to Users

0 Karma

phantom_mhike
Path Finder