Splunk IT Service Intelligence

Splunk ITSI: Why is transforms not masking the data correctly?

iamlearner123
Explorer

Hello,

I am new to splunk and learning it. However, recently i wrote transform to mask the mail ID but when i tested it is not masking the mail ID.

Transform:

[mail_id_mask]
REGEX = ([A-z0-9._%+-]+@[A-z0-9.-]+\.[A-z]{2,63})
FORMAT = ********@*********
DEST_KEY = _raw

Sample logs:

(29.2) 01-27-17 02:53:27 (9866:8500)  PRINTINGFN: $G_NOTIFY12_GRP_INTERNAL: abcdef.sdfrwe56@xyz.com
 (29.2) 01-27-17 02:53:27 (9866:8500)  PRINTINGFN: $G_NOTIF123Y_GRP_EXTERNAL: corP-apachesci.com

Any help would be appreciated.

0 Karma

harsmarvania57
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi,

You can use SEDCMD in props.conf to achieve this easily.

Please try below config in props.conf on Heavy Forwarder/Indexer whichever comes first from Universal Forwarder.

[yoursourcetype]
SEDCMD-mailidmask = s/^(\N+[\:]\s)[^\@]+\@[^\n]+/\1XXXX/
0 Karma

iamlearner123
Explorer

Thank you for the reply. however, it is not masking the all the email ID's. it masked only the first email ID (abcdef.sdfrwe56@xyz.com) when i tested in regex101.

0 Karma

harsmarvania57
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

I can't see any other email ID in raw data which you have provided.

0 Karma

iamlearner123
Explorer

Like, i was testing the regex for the couple of other events. Please find the below events. When i put the below events in the regex101, masking is not working. I am trying achieve a dynamic regex that will work for any email ID.

(14.2) 01-27-19 02:53:28 (8544:8500) PRINTFN: $G_NOTIFY_GRP_INTERNAL: harry.peter07@abc.com
(14.2) 01-27-18 02:53:27 (8544:8500) PRINTFN: $G_NOTIFY_GRP_EXTERNAL: SAAS-Learning_MDA@trsq.com

Thanks

0 Karma

harsmarvania57
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Here you go https://regex101.com/r/yHxyYg/1 , it is working fine

0 Karma

ddrillic
Ultra Champion

If we look at Anonymizing Data in Splunk

You see the following -