Splunk IT Service Intelligence

Replace Netcool OMNIbus with Splunk?

larryleeroberts
Path Finder

I am very new to Splunk and just attended Splunk Univeristy and Splunk conf.2016 which I found to be very good but left with some questions. We have had thoughts on perhaps replacing OMNIbus with Splunk. From what I can tell so far, it seems that Splunk would not be a good choice to use as an event manager. Am I correct? The Splunk IT Service Intelligence looks very exciting and appears to be the closest thing in Splunk to what OMNIbus does, but I do not see it as something to replace OMNIbus. Has anyone out there actually replaced OMNIbus with Splunk? I would be very interested in hearing thoughts around this.

Thank you!!!

1 Solution

halr9000
Motivator

You are generally correct so far. Sounds like you learned a lot last week! 🙂

Core Splunk does not do event management, but ITSI does go there with new features new 2.4 release. In particular, check out the Notable Event Review page in the docs, and I think you'll instantly get the point based on your OMNIbus knowledge.

Also, as @gfuente points out, SNMP is a key data source for most OMNIbus installs. It's not as common for Splunk use cases for many reasons, but customers do use Splunk to ingest SNMP data.

View solution in original post

hgehrts_splunk
Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

As nsmalley was writing: it all depends.
If you are looking for a software that fits 1:1 to the ITIL Event Management Process and you are willing to maintain it (cost and effort and knowledge): fine. If you need the WebUI functionality like right-click, assign, acknowledge: fine.

Just be aware that maintaining Netcool (and all the components like TIP, Impact, TBSM, ITNM, NCKL, the various other Rulesfiles, SQL Automations, Reporter Gateway,...) is also a BIG effort... and it covers just one use case: Event Management. And the raw data is destroyed in the ETL configuration of the Rulesfiles.