Splunk IT Service Intelligence

ITSI how to fix KPI sparklines?

oshirnin
Path Finder

Hello, everybody!

I have some experience with Splunk Enterprise, but I'm relatively new to ITSI. I noticed, that IT Service Intelligence App sometimes (in fact - often, if not even always) shows KPI sparklines having wrong values. For test purposes I created two KPIs based on | inputlookup - so, these can't have any null results regardless of "KPI Search Schedule" and "Calculation Window".

Here is what I have (blue rectangles on screenshot):

1. My KPI "Cluster Nodes are UP by Node" for host2 (right on screenshot) always has value=1 for now (this is constant value in lookup), but KPI sparkline value continuously changes from 0 to 1 and back. That is wrong, looks like measured service value changes, but it is not. Sparkline must show straight line at 1 value!

2. My KPI "Cluster Nodes are UP by Node" (left on screenshot) also always has value=1 for now, but KPI sparkline shows it continuously changes from 0 to 1 and back.

alt text

Since Splunk ITSI is nothing but a monitoring solution, this is a real problem to the end-users. These sparklines confuse and I really wonder how I can fix this. I need some help how can I review the app/itsi/homeview dashboard code and maybe even change it a little bit to fix the problem.

0 Karma

jwiedemann_splu
Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

The issue here is actually with the rendering engine of the sparkline or something about how core splunk (not ITSI) passes the values to the sparkline for rendering. If the time range is small enough (say last 60m) then that's small enough to bucket results passed to the sparkline into 1m spans which will result in 4 out of every 5 buckets not having a datapoint. (for a 5 minute KPI anyway)