Splunk Enterprise

Why during Remote Log Collection, am I getting "Unable to get wmi classes from host 'xxxx'?

Srini1207
Engager

Hi everyone,

I'm a newbie to Splunk. I installed Splunk Enterprise in a Server which is connected to AD. Other machine, I have installed the Universal Forwarder. I have a admin account for AD and with that I have installed the forwarder in other machine. I want to monitor all other logs from that machine. If try to collect the logs, it says that "Unable to get wmi classes from host 'xxxxx'. This host may not be reachable or WMI may be misconfigured". 

I have followed the steps under Configure Active Directory for running Splunk software as a domain user in this page - Prepare your Windows network to run Splunk Enterprise as a network or domain user page.

Is that something am I missing?, Also, I'm not sure on how to collect the remote logs.

Labels (1)
0 Karma

PickleRick
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Ugh. Don't use WMI if only you can avoid it. It's the "one before worst" method of collecting windows logs (the worst being using a third party logging solution like NXLog, Kiwi or whatever of the sort).

Use wineventlog on the UF directly or use WEF if you must.

You can define any Event Log you want to digest with wineventlog type of input, not just those three "main" Event Logs.

0 Karma

shivanshu1593
Builder

Hello,

WMI is an old school method to onboard logs. Since you have UF on the remote machine, you can basically ask it monitor anything and send it to your Splunk enterprise server. Here's how to do it in simple steps (This assumes that you have no special certificates for Splunk created and placed for additional security. It uses default Splunk certs that are shipped with it):

1. Log in to Splunk enterprise and go to settings -> indexes and create an index named wineventlog, as I have used the same name in all configs below. If you want to name it something else, please edit all configs below using the same name.