Splunk Enterprise

What is the difference between full stack splunk and splunk enterprise?

Shakeer_Spl
Explorer

Hi Folks,

Please note that I am new to splunk,

I have a question what is the difference between full stack splunk and splunk enterprise

Would be appreciate your kind support you 

Labels (1)
0 Karma
1 Solution

Shakeer_Spl
Explorer

Hi gcusello,

Thanks for your time, i would like to ask you that splunk enterprise version is Splunk full stack which is required to configuring splunk heavy forwarders 
that I understood from your answer is it correct please let me know
Thanks for your kind support

View solution in original post

0 Karma

Shakeer_Spl
Explorer

Hi gcusello,

Thanks for your time, i would like to ask you that splunk enterprise version is Splunk full stack which is required to configuring splunk heavy forwarders 
that I understood from your answer is it correct please let me know
Thanks for your kind support
0 Karma

PickleRick
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

It's hard to say what you mean by "full stack".

Splunk as a company has many different products/services. Typically when talking about "Splunk" as a product it's implied that we're talking about environment of Splunk Enterprise or Splunk Free (which is the same Splunk Enterprise binary but with a limited Splunk Free license applied) instance(s) and Splunk Universal Forwarders

Splunk Enterprise can be configured, depending on the needed role, as indexer, search-head, heavy forwarder, deployment server, shc deployer, cluster manager. But these are all instances of Splunk Enterprise servers.

0 Karma

gcusello
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi @Shakeer_Spl,

Splunk on premise has two main products (there are many others but for this scope two products):

• Splunk Enterprise:
  • Splunk Universal Forwarder.

The second is a light agent that can be used only to input data and is usually installed on the target servers.