Splunk Enterprise

Login delay+update notification on searchheads (at least) after restart

fuebel
Explorer

Hi there,

I'm very new to the Splunk infrastructure. We are running 8.0.3 Enterprise and I have a thing that I do not understand. When I restart our searchheads, the first login "stalls" after entering the username/password before the GUI loads. Might also happen again later, not sure. Also, I get the "a new version is available" message after each restart, even though I tried all answers I found to disable the update checking. But I still suspect it to be the culprit.

The delay happens while waiting for data from "/en-GB/app/launcher". The searchheads try to contact 35.164.43.215:443 and 34.218.138.15:443. Our Splunk environment does not have direct internet access, so those time out (but yet, it somehow found that a new maintenance version is available?).

I have set updateCheckerBaseURL to "0" as advised by other answers (btool outputs from a searchhead):

splunk btool web list settings --debug | grep updateCheckerBaseURL
/srv/splunk/etc/apps/oediv_all_search_base/local/web.conf updateCheckerBaseURL = 0

Internet-Access is supposed to be disabled completely, I think?:

splunk btool server list applicationsManagement --debug
/srv/splunk/etc/apps/oediv_cluster_search_base/local/server.conf [applicationsManagement]
/srv/splunk/etc/apps/oediv_cluster_search_base/local/server.conf allowInternetAccess = false

What else can I do to stop it trying to access the internet? The delay is annoying but not really a desaster, I just want to understand what's happening there.

Thanks in advance, Frank

Labels (2)
1 Solution

fuebel
Explorer

The other thing was that telemetry wasn't disabled. 

I changed these settings in apps/splunk_instrumentation/local/telemetry.conf and now I don't have a login delay any more.

sendAnonymizedUsage = false
sendAnonymizedWebAnalytics = false
sendLicenseUsage = True
sendSupportUsage = false

View solution in original post

fuebel