Splunk Enterprise

Is it posible to downgrade Splunk from free version to Splunk enterprise trial version?

hwakonwalk
Path Finder

Hi,
I was using a Enterprise trial version of Splunk for learning and then started working on a POC, it to me long time as I am new to Splunk and programing and the Splunk trial version expired and I upgraded to free version

Few of the features like alerts, DB connect, real-time searches and Splunk mobile app don't work with it. I want to downgrade again back to the trial version for some important demo's before I buy a license

Is it possible to install a new trial version again on the same machine?

Thanks,
Zubair

1 Solution

martin_mueller
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

*UP*grading to the downloaded enterprise trial license from the free license on an existing instance is not supposed to work. You have two options:

• Talk to your splunk sales rep or partner to get a sales trial license
  • Do the demo on a new instance - can be the same machine.

View solution in original post

martin_mueller
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

*UP*grading to the downloaded enterprise trial license from the free license on an existing instance is not supposed to work. You have two options:

• Talk to your splunk sales rep or partner to get a sales trial license
  • Do the demo on a new instance - can be the same machine.

martin_mueller
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

That sounds like a separate DB Connect or timestamping issue, do open a new question for that.

To check what license you're on, go to Settings -> Licensing.

0 Karma

hwakonwalk
Path Finder

Thank you very much Martin!
It is trial license and I'll open a new question for DB connect issue

0 Karma

hwakonwalk
Path Finder

I uninstalled the existing free version and downloaded and installed a trial version again, I still see some issues around Splunk DB connect as it changes the timestamp of my fresh stream of events to one month ago, Is there any way to check if I am using free or trial version?

0 Karma