Splunk Enterprise

How to set up a data input from my universal forwarder?

WildMufasa
Loves-to-Learn

I'm fairly new to Splunk and I am having some trouble setting up a data input from my universal forwarder. I've currently got it configured to pull windows event files from a specific folder on the machine that are moved to it manually. However it is only pulling seemingly random files, but 99% aren't getting indexed. I've tried specifying the file type to see if that was in issue, with no luck. I've also tried adding crcSalt = <string> to the input.conf file, no luck there either. Trying to see if I'm missing something as I've gone through many other posts for similar issues to no avail. Any ideas are greatly appreciated. 

Labels (1)
0 Karma

isoutamo
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust
Hi
Can you post your inputs.conf?
r. Ismo
0 Karma

WildMufasa1
Loves-to-Learn Lots

Below is my input.conf file, I've hidden the computer name for security. 

[monitor://\\COMPUTERNAME\"_ISSO Audits"\DC_Audit_Splunk\"Currently Reviewing"\*.csv]

disabled = false

index = dc_audits

sourcetype = csv

0 Karma

PickleRick
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

@isoutamo's questions are valid but let me make some assumptions judging from the fact that you say you have no experience with splunk.

I assume therefore that you installed splunk forwarder with default options which means it's running under Local System user. This user will not have permissions to connect to a remote share. For getting files from remote shares UF should be installed as a domain user (a managed service account) which should be granted access to the shares. Since you can't specify credentials for connecting to the share, it needs domain account. Maybe, just maybe it would work with share open to everyone but that's a very bad idea.

The syntax of the monitor stanza is probably also bad with those quotes.

0 Karma

WildMufasa1
Loves-to-Learn Lots