Splunk Enterprise

How to search for logon/logoff activity of domain admins

dhrechkosy
Explorer

Trying to figure out how to search for all logon/logoff attempts by any users in the "Domain Admins" group in active directory. I am currently using Splunk Light 6.5.2 and forwarding the security log events from one single domain controller to Splunk.

What would be a proper search string to use to find account logon/logoff activity for domain admins? Will I need to do a general search for all logon and logoff activity and then filter it to the specific users I'm looking for?

There are 3 staff in the domain admins group as well as the built in domain-administrator account. Management wants me to find a way to track logs for every logon/logoff for these four accounts.

Any suggestions will be helpful as I'm still quite new to this software.

1 Solution

nickhills
Ultra Champion

You could add your domain admins to a lookup file/table.
Using a sub search you could read your list of users using inputlookup and then in the main search look for login events.

tag=authentication tag=login [search inputlookup admin_users.csv] 

(I'm not near a system with windows logs to test/get you proper syntax but hopefully that gives you enough)

If my comment helps, please give it a thumbs up!

View solution in original post

nickhills
Ultra Champion

You could add your domain admins to a lookup file/table.
Using a sub search you could read your list of users using inputlookup and then in the main search look for login events.

tag=authentication tag=login [search inputlookup admin_users.csv] 

(I'm not near a system with windows logs to test/get you proper syntax but hopefully that gives you enough)

dhrechkosy
Explorer

Perfect I will try this suggestion. Do you know where the admin_users.csv file will need to be placed in order for splunk to recognize it when I run this sub search?

0 Karma

dhrechkosy
Explorer

Just a few more questions/clarifications needed: