Splunk Enterprise

How do I rebalance an index cluster with storage discrepancy between members?

sndblstr
Engager

Hello everyone,

I am fairly new to Splunk and learning on the fly, so it would be super nice of someone can help me solve this issue or guide me how to deal with it for now.

We had index cluster of 5 nodes in 2 sites. 
Site1 has 2 nodes with 9.1 TB each and Site 2 has 3 nodes with 20TB each... don't ask me why. There was some confusion with the initial installation of the machines.
So we have almost full disk in site 1 - 98% of storage used and around 50% in machines in site2.
Yesterday we added another in instance to site 1 with 20TB of disk, but it does not seem to offload the other 2 in site1.
What are our options here? Shall we run index rebalancing from the manager node?
Every guidance will be much appreciated.

Regards

Labels (2)
0 Karma
1 Solution

isoutamo
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Ok. I suppose that you have restart splunk after that resize has done?

Next check if your splunk is configured to use volumes in indexes.conf. You can check it from any index stanza to look if there is in any path like volume:<something> (there should be tstatsHomePath = volume:_splunk_summaries/...., but you should look if there are another for homePath and/or coldPath). If there are then try to find that volume definitions e.g.

splunk btool indexes list volume:<your volume name> --debug

That shows file where it has configured (run this in any indexer nodes). The path should be something like /opt/splunk/etc/slave-apps/.... Then look on CM in /opt/splunk/etc/master-apps/<path from previous command> and change volumes size to correct. It should be something like df -BM /<path>/to/your/splunk DB dir - 10-20% of it's total size.

After that deploy it to the cluster. IF that definition has done on somewhere else that slave-apps/peer-apps on. your indexers then I propose that ask help from Splunk PS or some local Splunk Partner.

View solution in original post