Splunk Enterprise

Can anyone explain what are the below searchhead, in perspective of installing an app?

Vipin_Pavithran
Explorer

Hi All,

I'm totally new to Splunk.

Please let know if any can explain what are the below searchhead, in perspective of installing an app. 

1- AdHocSH
2-Premium SH
3-SH Cluster
4-IDM

Labels (1)
0 Karma
1 Solution

richgalloway
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

1 - An adhoc SH is a "normal" search head.  It's called that because it's where users go to run interactive ("ad-hoc") searches.

2 - A Premium SH is a search head that runs a premium (extra fee) app such as Enterprise Security or ITSI.

3 - An SH Cluster is a cooperating collection of search heads.  Members of an SHC keep knowledge objects in sync and share resources.   A scheduled search may run on any member of the cluster.

4 - An IDM is a Splunk Cloud instance and not used in other environments.  The Input Data Manager was created as a way to run inputs in Splunk Cloud outside a search head.  This is before Splunk introduced the Victoria experience, which allows inputs on SHs and does not have an IDM.

---
If this reply helps you, Karma would be appreciated.

View solution in original post

Vipin_Pavithran
Explorer

Thanks a lot for your response 🙂 

0 Karma

richgalloway
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

1 - An adhoc SH is a "normal" search head.  It's called that because it's where users go to run interactive ("ad-hoc") searches.

2 - A Premium SH is a search head that runs a premium (extra fee) app such as Enterprise Security or ITSI.

3 - An SH Cluster is a cooperating collection of search heads.  Members of an SHC keep knowledge objects in sync and share resources.   A scheduled search may run on any member of the cluster.