Splunk Enterprise

Can I Pass Values to Single Value Panel?

josephjohn2211
Engager

Hello All,

I'm new to Splunk. I have the below table. I want to show the Previous Month Actual Cost in a single value panel, and the difference as a subscript and trend showing it is increased or decreased comparing to Current Month Forecast CostSplunk Question.png

How can I structure the Simple XML to get the desired output?

Labels (1)
0 Karma
1 Solution

PaulPanther
Builder

Ah, okay.

Please test below search query. The lookup must contain a timestamp of the forecasted month that is used by the timechart.

index=azure_cost_management earliest=-6mon@mon latest=@mon
|append [
| inputlookup MyAzureSubscription-forecast_cost.csv 
| rename Cost AS CostInBillingCurrency    
| eval _time=strptime(UsageDate,"%Y%m%d")
]
 | timechart span=1month sum(CostInBillingCurrency) by SubscriptionName

View solution in original post

0 Karma

PaulPanther
Builder

@josephjohn2211 Please provide your current search

0 Karma

josephjohn2211
Engager

"index=azure_cost_management earliest=-1mon@mon latest=@mon
| eventstats sum(CostInBillingCurrency) as PreviousMonthActualCost 
| head 1
| table PreviousMonthActualCost, SubscriptionName 
| join type=inner SubscriptionName 
    [| inputlookup MyAzureSubscription-forecast_cost.csv 
     | stats sum(Cost) as CurrentMonthForecastCost by SubscriptionName
     | table CurrentMonthForecastCost, SubscriptionName]
| eval Difference=PreviousMonthActualCost - CurrentMonthForecastCost
| table PreviousMonthActualCost, CurrentMonthForecastCost, Difference,SubscriptionName" 

Here Actual Cost and Forecast Cost are retrieved using Different APIs from Azure Cost Management

0 Karma

PaulPanther
Builder

Following search would be the easiest solution but based on your data retention policies and amount of events  it may make sense to use a summary index or a lookup as you already do it.