Splunk Enterprise Security

is it possible to create a new threat intelligence source with json format in Enterprise Security ?

asimagu
Builder

Hey gents

My customer is asking me to create a new threat intelligence source in the Enterprise Security app (version 4.5.1.)
He told me that he is going to provide an .ioc file with the fields and values in json format.....

This is my first time doing this and I am not quite sure it can be done as I have read everywhere that ioc files come in xml format, not json....

could you guys confirm this?? any word of advise I could use?

thanks a lot

1 Solution

lguinn2
Legend

Yes, this can be done. Any new input can be integrated as an intelligence source - if it is normalized according to the Common Information Model (CIM) and integrated properly. The CIM is packaged with Enterprise Security, but it has its own manual. You should also look at the Enterprise Security manual. Install and deploy add-ons is an important section, especially the sub-topic on importing custom add-ons. You should also read the section on Data source planning.

Be sure to carefully test that your new source appears in the ES data models and correlation searches.

View solution in original post

0 Karma

lguinn2
Legend

Yes, this can be done. Any new input can be integrated as an intelligence source - if it is normalized according to the Common Information Model (CIM) and integrated properly. The CIM is packaged with Enterprise Security, but it has its own manual. You should also look at the Enterprise Security manual. Install and deploy add-ons is an important section, especially the sub-topic on importing custom add-ons. You should also read the section on Data source planning.

Be sure to carefully test that your new source appears in the ES data models and correlation searches.

0 Karma

asimagu
Builder

Hi Lisa, thanks for your help.