Splunk Enterprise Security

Splunk port scan detection

christianubeda
Path Finder

Hi team!

It's my very first time and I need help.

I want to detect a port scan. I did that but I dont know how to continue.

I want to detect the scans of ports made from some internal zone to another internal zone

index=xxx_paloalto sourcetype="pan:traffic"  type=TRAFFIC (src_zone!="Inet-WAN1" OR src_zone!="Inet-WAN2")(dest_zone!="Inet-WAN1" OR dest_zone!="Inet-WAN2") `Users_Subnets` `Not_Common_Ports_xxx` |stats count, values(src_ip), values(dest_ip), values(src_zone),values(dest_zone),values(user) by generated_time | rename values(src_ip) as Source_IP, values(dest_ip) as Destination_IP, count as Count, user as User, values(src_zone) as Source_Zone, values(dest_zone) as Dest_Zone, values(user) as User

Any advice? I have no idea how to do it

Thank you!

marked code as code - dmj

0 Karma
1 Solution

DalJeanis
Legend

First, you need to decide exactly what you mean by port-scan. When you aggregate your records, you need to do so in a meaningful way, so that each record that comes out of the stats command means something specific. So, before you code your search, define exactly what you are searching for.

Example: "When I say 'port scan', I mean that, during the period of the search, a single source zone and source ip is talking to a large number (8 or more) of ports on a specific destination IP (which will always be in a single zone), and where the two IPs are in different zones."

If that was your definition, then you would want by src_zone src_ip dest_ip to be part of your stats command, and you'd want to keep the values of the dest_ports that were accessed. It might look like this...

index=xxx_paloalto sourcetype="pan:traffic"  type=TRAFFIC 
    (src_zone!="Inet-WAN1" OR src_zone!="Inet-WAN2")
    (dest_zone!="Inet-WAN1" OR dest_zone!="Inet-WAN2") 
    `Users_Subnets` `Not_Common_Ports_xxx` 
| stats count, values(dest_zone) as dest_zone, values(dest_port) as dest_port,