Splunk Enterprise Security

How do I Add a cidr filter to the existing correlation rule?

Treize
Engager

Hi, I am a beginner.
I have a correlation rule that :
- searches for IP addresses that are port scans
- search in the lookup table, if each IP address is not listed
- if an IP address is not in the lookup table: make an alert in ES
- add this IP in the lookup table (to avoid duplicates)

I have two lookup tables :
- scan_port.csv
- network_provider.csv

Now I would like to filter the IP addresses by a lookup table (a list of cidr ranges : "network_provider.csv").
If possible, this filter would be first in this correlation rule, to avoid adding a filtered IP in the lookup table "scan_port.csv".

The priority is to:
- Find the port scan of the IPs
- Filter IPs (by the lookup table "network_provider")
- Check for duplicates (by the lookup table "scan_port")
- Make an alert
- Add the IP in the search table (port scan)

As I said, I have a correlation rule for port scans that has been working for years.
I would like to add the filter by cidr range. I have the command (cidrmatch) that works for the filter.
But I can't get it to work, between the port scan lookup and the two lookup tables, I can't find a solution.

Any ideas?
Thanks in advance

Labels (1)
0 Karma
1 Solution

VatsalJagani
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

@Treize - You can have something like this:

<your-query>
| search NOT [| inputlookup network_provider.csv | table network_ip_range | rename network_ip_range as src_ip]  --> Filter IPs (by the lookup table "network_provider")
| search NOT [| inputlookup scan_port.csv | table src_ip]  --> Check for duplicates (by the lookup table "scan_port")
| appendpipe [| table src_ip | outputlookup append=true scan_port.csv]  --> Add the IP in the search table (port scan)

--> You will have rest of the results left here and ES will generate alert for it according to correlation search rules

Assumptions: (Make changes to query accordingly)