Splunk Enterprise Security

Enterprise Security - Malware Operations - Clients By Product Version

securitypaul
Explorer

Hello! Can anyone please lend a hand with this issue? I'm still fairly new to this and am working my way through Fundamentals 2.

Scenario:

Sophos Central antivirus clients installed on Linux and Windows.

Using a Heavy Forwarder to pull Sophos Central logs via an API into a dedicated antivirus index. These logs lack the product_version needed to populate the "Malware Operations - Clients By Product Version" dashboard panel.

I've found the data I need in two places.

A log entry in /var/log/messages which is being ingested to the unix index and looks like this:

Jul 13 03:59:37 server-name savd[5860]: update.updated: Updated to versions - SAV: 10.5.2, Engine: 3.79.0, Data: 5.85

And in a file /opt/sophos-av/engine/suiteVersion which is readable by the splunk user and contains:

I used the field extractor to create a regex string that matches the log entry and extracts the product_version.

I've created a custom app with these files in it, pushed from the Deployment Server onto one host, and pushed from the Deployer to our Enterprise Security Search Head Cluster:

props.conf
[syslog]
EXTRACT-date,time,host,process_name,product_version = ^(?P<date>\w+\s+\d+)\s+(?P<time>[^ ]+)\s+(?P<host>[^ ]+)\s+(?P<process_name>\w+)(?:[^ \n]* ){6}(?P<product_version>\SAV:\s\d*\.\d*\.\d*,\sEngine:\s\d*\.\d*\.\d*,\sData:\s\d*.\d*.+)

eventtypes.conf
[product_version]
search=product_version=*

tags.conf
[eventtype=product_version]
malware = enabled
operations = enabled

When I search the unix index I can see the product_version field in the search results and the tags.

Questions:

1.) How do I copy these events into the antivirus index and is this necessary? (I'm thinking of efficiency as the cim_Malware_indexes macro contains the antivirus and firewall indexes which are much smaller than the unix index).