Security

domain account search using csv and event id

japonter
Explorer

Hi, i have been looking but cant seem to make much sense of it all.

im new to splunk. im trying to create a search and alert from a csv file, the csv fiel contains Domain Admin account and i wanted to creat a search for a numbers of eventid on those domain admin accounts.

index=win sourcetype=wineventlog EventCode=*the events im looking for* | inputlookup file.csv

but cant seem to make it work. any help would be great

0 Karma
1 Solution

richgalloway
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

"can't make it work" is not a great problem statement.  What results do you get and how do they compare to what you want to get?

The inputlookup command is a generating command so it has to be the first command in a search.  That's one reason the sample query doesn't work.

I suspect you're wanting to read the CSV and use the list of admin names to filter data in an index.  That's done using a subsearch.  In Splunk, a subsearch is identified by square brackets and executes first.  The output of the subsearch is appended to the main search before execution continues.  Try this example:

index=win sourcetype=wineventlog EventCode=*the events im looking for* [| inputlookup file.csv | format]

The inputlookup command is first command in a subsearch.  The subsearch runs, reads the file.csv then formats the results into the form "(admin=foo OR admin=bar OR admin=baz...)".  It's important for the field name read from the CSV to match a field name in the index used by the main search.  Use a rename in the subsearch to satisfy that requirement.

It should be noted that the phrase EventCode=*the events im looking for* needs to have a single value on the right hand side.  If you want to search for multiple event codes then use an OR expression or the IN operator.

index=win sourcetype=wineventlog (EventCode=4123 OR EventCode=4124)

index=win sourcetype=wineventlog EventCode IN (4123, 4124)
---