Security

Automatically Upload all files in a folder from windows machine into Splunk with Splunk web option.

siddharth1679

I tried "Files and Directories" option, but getting following error.

unable to open file: path='\localhost\D$\Uploadfiles\' error='No such file or directory'

I am local user of the system, want to upload the CSV files stored in a particular folder (D or E folder).The Splunk version used is 6.2 . In some case i get this error "Parameter name: Path must be absolute". I tried these things
\localhost\D:\foldername or \IP-address of local system\D:\foldername or \localhost\D$\foldername.

I refereed "Splunk answers sight" but couldn't find out the answer.
I tried with two browsers Mozilla and Chrome, but getting same error in both. Since i have only access to Splunk UI i want to try with Splunk web option. Can't try with CLI and inputs.conf file as i don't have access to Splunk server. I am new to Splunk so can i be guided to solve this

0 Karma
1 Solution

FrankVl
Ultra Champion

Just to clarify: you have CSV files on your local system and want to ingest those into Splunk, which is running on another server (to which you don't have access other than through Splunk Web)?

Telling Splunk to look at localhost, will have Splunk look at the system it is running on, not your local system.

So you would need to ensure the folder on your local system is shared, also accessible by the user splunk is running under and then ensure you put the correct share path into Splunk. When configuring the sharing of the folder on your local system, I think it should tell you under which path it is available for others?

It should be something like:
\ip-address or hostname of your local system\sharename\subfoldername

View solution in original post

0 Karma

siddharth1679