Reporting

timechart not showing correct values

nikhilpai
Explorer

Hi, I am new to splunk and am trying to build one timechart.

we have the following timechart search query which is not giving the correct values in statistics but when we browse the events from the statistics the required data seems to be there. 

Not able to figure out how timechart exactly works here. Query as below , request help / explanation for the behavior. Filtered for a particular bizname, I select the date range from say 00:45 to 1:30 for a particular day.

I get the wrong "Percentage" value [say 60%] for the first block [00:45 to 1:00], but when go to the events and check it comes out to be 93%. What am I doing wrong here.

index=index1 sourcetype=*XYZ* 
| dedup col1, col2,col3 | search bizname="ABC"
| where completed in("Y","N")
| eval status=if(completed ="Y",100,0)
| timechart span=15m mean(status) as Percentage by bizname useother=false limit=100
| fillnull value=100

Thanks.

Labels (1)
0 Karma
1 Solution

nikhilpai
Explorer

We figured this out. We are using dedup as we have some values which het updated in the source at different intervals.

Hence when we were selecting the window 00:45 - 1:30 the dedup would be done across this time period and hence the % would go less in the first 15 min slot as they had corresponding  duplicate values in the third 15 min slot.

but when we would filter based only on the first 15 min slot it would show a higher % as there were no corresponding duplicates in this window.

So not a issue it only how the data is collected. Thanks .

View solution in original post

0 Karma

richgalloway
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

The mean() function does not calculate a percentage.  It's just an average of the values it's seen.  Percentages have to be calculated manually using the eval command.

---
If this reply helps you, Karma would be appreciated.
0 Karma

nikhilpai
Explorer

Thanks for the reply @richgalloway .