Reporting

How to generate storage and license usage reporting in a distributed Splunk deployment?

bkumarm
Contributor

I have a License Master configured with 10 salves (about 5 Indexers and 5 forwarders).
Indexer1 - testindex1, testindex2,testindex3
Indexer2 - testindex4, testindex1, testindex5
Indexer3 - testindex1, testindex2, testindex6
sourcetypes - st1 (testindex1, testindex2), st2 (testindex3, tesindex4)
I have two license pools "LicensePool1"and "LicensePool2" of 500 MB each

The report I want to generate should have the following:
1. Overall license consumption by each Index/Host Vs License pool
2. Storage consumed by each index
3. Predict the license usage for one year, based on the consumption ( for each index/sourcetype/source)

I have got usage by Index using the search below:

index=_internal source=*license_usage.log type=Usage  | rename idx AS index  | timechart span=1d eval(round(sum(b)/1024/1024/1024,2)) AS "Total GB Used" by index

I need help in getting the search that provides such views.

bkumarm
Contributor

I have almost got it after multiple tries:

| tstats max(Introspection.Disk_Objects.Capacity) AS Capacity max(Introspection.Disk_Objects.Avail) AS Avail max(Introspection.Disk_Objects.Used) AS Used max(Introspection.Disk_Objects.UsedPct) AS UsedPct FROM datamodel=Introspection_Usage WHERE nodename=Introspection.Disk_Objects [inputlookup all_servers.csv | fields host] GROUPBY _time host Introspection.data.mount_point | eventstats max(_time) AS latest by host | where _time=latest | rename Introspection.data.mount_point AS Mount |table host Mount Capacity Avail Used UsedPct | sort - UsedPct

however this query is giving only for LM. could anyone help in getting this extended for all slaves along with their roles?

bkumarm
Contributor

Just an update after looking at masonmorales suggestion:
I have already evaluated Utilization monitor (SUM), Splunk on Splunk (SoS), Fire brigade apps. Have looked around most of the apps in my reach.