Reporting

How to export daily dataset to csv file?

Rayees
Explorer

Hi,

I need a help in creating a daily csv export to a file from a data set for 24 hrs . I have a data set under Search & Reporting >>Datasets >>my dump report. now when i click on the my dump report it gives me report for any specific condition / time / period what ever i like and then i am able to download the same as csv file . I need help to create a daily automatic job of the same so that after every 24 hrs ( each day from 00:00:00 hrs to 23:59:00 hrs ) the report is created and saved / exported to a specific folder / disk with date_Month_year wise folder / file . Kindly help me / guide me for the same . i am trying on splunk installed on windows.

Labels (1)
0 Karma

Rayees
Explorer

Hi Sir,

Greetings . Thanks for help . As i am very new to Splunk so i was not able to figure out the solution you shared though i read the documentation shared by you . I need  more help in creating this solution to get the desired output . Regarding moving the csv file from Splunk Base that i can handle. Can you help me further in this regard.

Regards

Rayees

Hi Sir,

Greetings . Thanks for help . As i am very new to Splunk so i was not able to figure out the solution you shared though i read the documentation shared by you . I need  more help in creating this solution to get the desired output . Regarding moving the csv file from Splunk Base that i can handle. Can you help me further in this regard. I have attached the screen shots.

Regards

Rayees

0 Karma

gcusello
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi @Rayees,

you should modify your search adding the outputcsv command at the end of your search (https://docs.splunk.com/Documentation/Splunk/9.0.2/SearchReference/Outputcsv) and create an alert using this search.

The only problem is that the csv can be saved in a fixed (and not configurable) folder: $SPLUNK_HOME\var\run\splunk\csv