Other Usage

Data model acceleration status: Building

ikulcsar
Communicator

Hi,

I am new to Data models and accelerations, too. I am trying to parse log for a data model and ES. The log parsing is moving now, but far from the final solution, I can search by Data model/Pivot.

I checked the Enterprise Security dashboard, but it does not show anything that can be linked to this logs. I executed the dashboards searches manually, still shows no event matched. (| tstats...) Then I checked Data model acceleration status:
ACCELERATION
Rebuild Update Edit

Status Building
Access Count 0.
Last Access: -

Size on Disk 0 B
Summary Range 31536000 second(s)
Buckets 0

Updated 1/1/70 1:00:00.000 AM

What couse the problem, how can I debug and fix it?
This is the Malware data model, there are events with tag malware and attack. There are events with some action and dest fields to.

Regards,
István

0 Karma

ikulcsar
Communicator

Hi,

Thanks everyone for the help. Finally looks like the problem have been solved:
After I renamed the Add-on to "Enterprise Security conform", the acceleration starts to works... (And ES Endpoint dashboard show the events.)
http://docs.splunk.com/Documentation/ES/latest/Install/ImportCustomApps

I thought it was only due to configuration distribution for Indexer. Looks like I was wrong.

Regards,
István

0 Karma

mayurr98
Super Champion
0 Karma

ikulcsar
Communicator

Hi,

Thx, I already checked the menu/action item under Search & Reporting/Datasets/Malware, Explore/"Visualize with Pivot" and "Investigate in Search". Both show results. (This is the "View Events"?)
Permissions also look good (scheduler logs).

Regards,
István

0 Karma

ikulcsar
Communicator

Hi, a little update:

I built a Linux test system instead of Windows-based. Data model acceleration now 100%, but size still 0B.

Running tstats searches:
- with summariesonly=t: no result
- with summariesonly=f: I've received a valid result.