Reporting

Calculate meantime it takes for jobs to complete

DCUpro
Explorer

Hi Everyone,

I'm a bit of a newbie to splunk but I was wondering if anyone would be able to maybe give me some advice.

I send a number of logs to my splunk index which are created by a python script. One of the fields I have defined is "Completion Time" which contains the value of how long it took a certain job to complete. This value could range from hours to days and is shown in the following format: "2 days, 7:57:01"

My plan was to use a dashboard which would tell me the meantime of how long it takes certain jobs to run. However I'm unsure if splunk has a way to interpret the values presented in this way. Can anyone maybe suggest if this is possible or would i be better altering the script to only show the time in hours? I know I probably could calculate this in splunk using the start and finish times of the jobs too but this seems like it would be more resource intensive.

Would love to hear some advice from the experts.

Note: I'd prefer to keep it in the same format as its easier for the user to read when they're looking at the logs for individual jobs.

Labels (1)
0 Karma
1 Solution

isoutamo
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi

This should solve it. 

| makeresults
| eval _raw="Completiontime
1 day, 3:10:49
1 day, 0:55:03
22:43:24
2 days, 7:57:01"
| multikv forceheader=1
| rename COMMENT as "Previous lines generates sample data"
| rex field=Completiontime "((?<days>\d+) days?,\s*)?(?<hours>\d+):(?<mins>\d+):(?<secs>\d+)"
| eval days = coalesce(days, 0), hours = coalesce(hours, 0), mins = coalesce(mins, 0), secs = coalesce(secs, 0)
| eval meantime = days * 86400 + hours * 3600 + mins * 60 + secs
| streamstats avg(meantime) as duration
| fieldformat duration = tostring(round(duration), "duration")
| table Completiontime duration

r. Ismo 

View solution in original post

richgalloway
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

This run-anywhere example show one way to convert Completion Time to meantime.