Monitoring Splunk

How to verify splunk universal forwarder is forwarding all event log data?

skimfl
Engager

Good morning / afternoon, 

I am a cybersecurity professional who has been asked if there is a way to verify that splunk is capturing all the Windows Event logs. Currently the forwarder is configured to send all standard Windows log data to splunk. We utilize splunk to do domain and system cybersecurity event audits. I am confident my inputs.conf and splunk forwarders are configured properly,  but essentially trust but verify that splunk is indexing the appropriate data. 

I know splunk is in use world wide and specifically in SOCs around the world. If one were asked to verify the data is infact whole is there a way to verify and test other than manually generating events and parsing both splunk and windows event viewer periodically to verify splunk is infact receiving all data. Obviously this could be a configuration but with such a high level of concern around cybersecurity I would assume that orgs need to trust the data in splunk is accurate, but how can I verify?

Any tips?

0 Karma
1 Solution

PickleRick
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Well, short of using another tool to forward another copy of logs and compare them against the events ingested into Splunk there's no real method for 100% sure verifying that all events have been properly ingested.

But that's the common problem with all monitoring solutions. Not only the security-related ones.

What you can do to minimize probability of data ingestion problems getting unnoticed is:

- monitoring UF logs for warnings/errors

- verifying numbers of events (as someone already suggested) indexed vs. number of events on the source machine

- generating synthetic "checkpoint" events on the source and verifying if they're getting indexed properly (you could also use those checkpoint events to transmit metadata for the data volume monitoring)