Monitoring Splunk

Creating a count for events that happend in a time period

andres91302
Communicator
Hello you guys! Im new to splunk and I have a BIG question, thanks in advance to everyone who is willing to take on this challenge. My data: events that contain only two fields: 1) ID_CLIENT and a field named OP_CODE this last one contains numbers that represent where in a webpage a custumer is at the moment. F.I: The number 34 represents "candy products" and the number 18 represents "stuffed animals" what I want to do: I want to be able to count how many times an ID_CLIENT goes from OP_CPDE=34 to OP_CPDE=18 in a day, or last hour ect... IF YOU CAN HELP ME ABOUT WITH THIS I WILL BE FOREVER THANKFUL
Labels (1)
0 Karma
1 Solution

manjunathmeti
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

hi @andres91302,

You can use the transaction command. The below query runs for the last 24 hours and you can change it.

index=index sourcetype=sourcetype earliest=-24h
| transaction ID_CLIENT startswith="OP_CPDE=34" endswith="OP_CPDE=18"
| stats count by ID_CLIENT

Check this link for more info on this kind of query: https://docs.splunk.com/Documentation/Splunk/8.1.2/SearchReference/Transaction#6._Transactions_with_...

If this reply helps you, an upvote/like would be appreciated.

View solution in original post

manjunathmeti
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

hi @andres91302,
You are welcome. I am glad that my answers are helping you.
You are almost there, use either search (with AND/OR operators) or eval expressions for startswith and endswith options. Put search expressions in quotes if you are filtering on multiple fields.

| transaction ID_CLIENT startswith="ACTION=3 RESPONDE=1" endswith="ACTION=5 RESPONDE=0" 

This is same as the below query,

| transaction ID_CLIENT startswith="ACTION=3 AND RESPONDE=1" endswith="ACTION=5 AND RESPONDE=0"

0 Karma

andres91302
Communicator

You did it again! 10/10 thank you so so so much

0 Karma

scelikok
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi @andres91302,

Please try below;