Knowledge Management

recommended way to rename a kvstore collection that is not empty ?

mhergh
Explorer

Dear all,

I am pretty new with KVstore, REST API and Python SDK, therefore my question might be trivial for an expert, but after some hours spent on answers.splunk.com I still don't get a real solution to that.

We are using Splunk Enterprise 8.0.0 and by reading the "Endpoints reference list": https://docs.splunk.com/Documentation/Splunk/8.0.0/RESTREF/RESTlist

I see that the REST-API allows for collections creation, adding items, updating items (in the sense of full updates), collections delete.

I couldn't find however anything about collections renaming - how should this work ?

The direct solution of gathering the data, creating another collection, pushing the data into the new collection then deleting the old collection does not seem a good choice when working with large collections (>= 10.000.000 items).

So the question is, what is the splunk way to rename an existing collection ? I simply refuse to think that splunk does not offer an interface method to realise this.

thx,
marius

Labels (1)
0 Karma

dindu
Contributor

Hi Mhergh,

Splunk uses Mongo DB to provide the KV store functionality. Splunk uses an inbuilt custom Mongo instance to serve this purpose.I believe this is the reason by which we don't have an option to rename KV store collection.
We could have renamed the Mongo collection name directly if we were able to access the Mongo storage within splunk, however Splunk does not provide an option to do so.

However we could try and test a workaround.I am NOT sure whether this will work - so do it only on your TEST instance and NOT on prod. Ideally recommended to create a sample KV store to test this out.

Step1) Connect to your Splunk Linux Box

Step2) Get all the reference of your collection name.You could use the grep command in putty to get that.

grep  "your_kv_store_name" $(find /opt/splunk/etc/apps  -type f -name '*.conf')