Installation

Why am I getting error "Operation not permitted" while accepting the license in Splunk on Linux Ubuntu?

Yogen

Hi,

I am a newbie in Splunk. I faced an error while accepting the license for Splunk. I am using Linux Ubuntu OS. The details of the error are as shown below:

This appears to be your first time running this version of Splunk.
Moving '/home/yogen6116/download/splunk/share/splunk/search_mrsparkle/modules.new' to '/home/yogen6116/download/splunk/share/splunk/search_mrsparkle/modules'.

An unforeseen error occurred:

Exception: <type 'exceptions.OSError'>, Value: [Errno 1] Operation not permitted: '/home/yogen6116/download/splunk/share/splunk/search_mrsparkle/modules.new'

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/home/yogen6116/download/splunk/lib/python2.7/site-packages/splunk/clilib/cli.py", line 1150, in main
    parseAndRun(argsList)
  File "/home/yogen6116/download/splunk/lib/python2.7/site-packages/splunk/clilib/cli.py", line 997, in parseAndRun
    retVal = cList.getCmd(command, subCmd).call(argList, fromCLI = True)
  File "/home/yogen6116/download/splunk/lib/python2.7/site-packages/splunk/clilib/cli.py", line 280, in call
    return self.func(args, fromCLI)
  File "/home/yogen6116/download/splunk/lib/python2.7/site-packages/splunk/clilib/control_api.py", line 30, in wrapperFunc
    return func(dictCopy, fromCLI)
  File "/home/yogen6116/download/splunk/lib/python2.7/site-packages/splunk/clilib/_internal.py", line 160, in firstTimeRun
    comm.moveItem(migration.PATH_UI_MOD_NEW, migration.PATH_UI_MOD_ACTIVE)
  File "/home/yogen6116/download/splunk/lib/python2.7/site-packages/splunk/clilib/cli_common.py", line 855, in moveItem
    ensureDeletable(src)
  File "/home/yogen6116/download/splunk/lib/python2.7/site-packages/splunk/clilib/cli_common.py", line 892, in ensureDeletable
    os.chmod(oneItem, os.stat(oneItem).st_mode | stat.S_IWRITE)