Installation

Upgrade with Search and Replication factors not met

scottfrandsen
Explorer

I'm getting ready to upgrade my cluster from 6.4.2 to 6.6.12 to 7.3.4. However, my Replication Factor and Search Factor are net met. Is it OK to proceed with the upgrade anyway? If not, what can be done to fix it? I've searched for resolutions but have not found anything that applies or works yet.

RF=2
SF=2
I have a master, 2 indexers/peers and 2 search heads
Fixup Tasks in Progress=0
Fixup Tasks Pending=12737
Excess Buckets=0

Most fixup statuses are "cannot fix up search factor as bucket is not serviceable" or "Missing enough suitable candidates to create searchable copy in order to meet replication policy. Missing={ default:1 }"

Labels (3)
0 Karma
1 Solution

scottfrandsen
Explorer

I found some indexes with spaces in the names. After replacing the spaces with underscores and making needed changes in index.conf and inputs.conf, RF and SF are now met.

View solution in original post

0 Karma

scottfrandsen
Explorer

I found some indexes with spaces in the names. After replacing the spaces with underscores and making needed changes in index.conf and inputs.conf, RF and SF are now met.

0 Karma

thambisetty
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

@scottfrandsen 

May I know what exactly you have done to fix the issue?

————————————
If this helps, give a like below.
0 Karma

scottfrandsen
Explorer

@thambisettyI removed the spaces from all the index names and directories. I did this in the indexes.conf file and the associated index directories under $SPLUNK_DB.

0 Karma

ivanreis
Builder

Please do run migrate the splunk version before you fix it.
Also check this splunk answer to get more information about this error -> https://answers.splunk.com/answers/406085/why-am-i-getting-bucket-not-serviceable-errors-on.html