Installation

Three new indexers not showing up on Cluster Master as Instances but they do show up as Peers

Gregski11
Contributor

added three new Windows Indexers to my already three node index cluster and the new ones show up on the Peers page but not on the Instances page on the Cluster Master, I am new to Splunk so what did I do wrong

on cluster Master go to Settings \ DISTRIBUTED ENVIRONMENT \ Indexer Clustering - and here I can see all six indexers

however when I go to Settings  \ Monitor Console \ I only see the old three

Labels (1)
0 Karma
1 Solution

Gregski11
Contributor

we found the answer

Go to Settings > Monitoring Console > Settings > General Setup > "Apply Changes"

For some reason this fixed my issue as well despite making no other changes.

https://community.splunk.com/t5/Getting-Data-In/How-to-remove-an-indexer-from-the-distributed-manage...

View solution in original post

0 Karma

Gregski11
Contributor

we found the answer

Go to Settings > Monitoring Console > Settings > General Setup > "Apply Changes"

For some reason this fixed my issue as well despite making no other changes.

https://community.splunk.com/t5/Getting-Data-In/How-to-remove-an-indexer-from-the-distributed-manage...

0 Karma

codebuilder
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

It's generally better practice to run the DMC on a standalone node but some do run it on the master as you're doing. When running the DMC on the master you need to understand there is a difference between what the master itself sees as the "leader" of the indexer cluster, and what the DMC is configured to monitor. They are two different things.

In any case, for monitoring the new nodes via DMC functionality you'll need to add them manually. See the documentation link below for the steps.

https://docs.splunk.com/Documentation/Splunk/8.2.1/DMC/Addinstancesassearchpeers

----
An upvote would be appreciated and Accept Solution if it helps!
0 Karma

Gregski11
Contributor