Installation

NEWBIE: Splunk as a syslog server

DStalker

Hopefully, someone could guide me through this process.

Newbie here. Pllease bear with me with these lame questions. 😄

All I wanted to do is push my routers' logs pointing to the Syslog server.

Can I implement this using Splunk without a good background in programming? I know IP routing but not much on coding. I can configure all routers pointing to the syslog server.

What are the things I need to consider? From hardware to installation of splunk? What splunk should I need to subscribe if I only wanted to implement a syslog server? 

Do we have a step-by-step tutorial on how do we implement this by beginners point-of-view?

Thank you so much. Appreciate someone could help me.

God bless and Keep safe guys!

Labels (2)
0 Karma

gcusello
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi @DStalker,

Splunk has inside the function of syslog server and a dedicated app to do this: Splunk Connect for Syslog (https://splunkbase.splunk.com/app/4740/) and it isn't requested programming knowledge but a little Splunk knowledge.

To do this, at first you have to define if you want HA or not:

• if yes you have to use two Heavy Forwarders and a Load Balancer,
  • if not, you need only one Load Balancer.

this is important because, as you know, you have to take syslogs when they arrive otherwise they are lost, so you need a system with two servers so at least there's always one of them active, also during failure or maintenence.

Anyway, the steps are the following (not HA):

• make a list of your sources, identifying:
    • source address,
    • source hostname,
    • available protocol (TCP/UDP)
    • configurable ports (default 514, some appliances can set a different outport sone other cannot),
  • open the firewall routes between syslog sources and Heavy Forwarder,
  • install a server: also virtual, possibly Linux, with the normal requirements for Splunk,