Installation

Is it possible to install Splunk DB on search heads, and is it required to have Splunk indexing?

sebdon81
Engager

Dear community, I am new to Splunk DB and I am trying to understand a few things:

Context: I am trying to use Splunk DB as an interface for my data stored in Hudi or HDFS or Cassandra. I want to give the Splunk DB interface which can query this data and returns this date to a Splunk environment.

I have a few questions:

- I read that it is recommended to install Splunk DB on the heavy forwarder. If we only have access to the research head, is it possible to install it on search heads?

- in terms of indexing, is it required to have the Splunk indexing, or I can use the indexing of the other database?

- overall, my use cases will use Slunk DB just as an interface.

Thanks a lot

Labels (3)
0 Karma
1 Solution

gcusello
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi @sebdon81,

in a distributed architecture, usually Search Heads makes the Search Head role not also the indexer.

For this reason in my opinion this isn't a good idea.

Anyway, sending data to indexers you have them available for searches, so, why do you want also a local copy? in addition, paying twice the license?

if one answer solves your need, please accept one answer for the other people of Community or tell me how I can help you.

Ciao and happy splunking

Giuseppe

P.S.: Karma Points are appreciated 😉

View solution in original post

0 Karma

sebdon81
Engager

Hello @gcusello ,

First thanks a lot for taking the time to answer me. Very much appreciated.

I just wanted to be sure we are talking about the same software. In my question, I was referring to this software:

https://splunkbase.splunk.com/app/2686

Splunk DB Connect is a generic SQL database extension for Splunk that enables easy integration of database information with Splunk queries and reports. Splunk DB Connect supports DB2/Linux, Informix, MemSQL, MySQL, AWS Aurora, Microsoft SQL Server, Oracle, PostgreSQL, AWS