Installation

Forwarder installs for Linux and Windows

rodneymitch80
Explorer

Hello All,

I'm a Splunk newbie and i have 3 questions.

In our newly Splunk Deployment we have a Search Head, 1 Deployment Server, 2 Indexers, and 2 forwarders and we are set up in a Distributed environment.

Question #1 - Is there a streamlined way or quicker way to setup each server using CLI on both linux and windows. 

Question #2 - Do you never need to install apps or add-ons on every server to get all splunk deployment to work?

Question #3 - How would i know what add-ons and apps i would need that are important to our deployment?

This is a project of mine and time is a factor. Please assist. 

Thanks,

RPM

Labels (1)
0 Karma
1 Solution

richgalloway
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

The Monitoring Console (MC) can be used to verify everything is working in your environment.  This is a centralized dashboard that watches over each of your Splunk instances.  It's probably best configured (it's installed on all Splunk servers) on the Deployment Server.

---
If this reply helps you, Karma would be appreciated.

View solution in original post

richgalloway
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Answer #1 - The documented way is pretty quick.  What is it you feel needs to be streamlined?

Answer #2 - Yes, sometimes an app or add-on needs to be installed on all instance types.

Answer #3 - Only you know what is important to you and your environment.  Tell us what is important to you and we can suggest some apps.  In the meantime, check out this .conf talk for some suggestions: 10 Must-Have Apps and Why You Are Crazy Not to Use Them! (https://static.rainfocus.com/splunk/splunkconf18/sess/1520969498776001bolS/finalPDF/FN1072_10MustHav...)

---

rodneymitch80
Explorer

@richgalloway  Thanks for your prompt response. It is truly appreciated.