Getting Data In

indexing, segmenting segments, pre-search

fullofentropy

I am a splunk newbie, so some obvious explanations might need further clarification.

What I have:

Advanced medical imaging system of systems that produces a global output log of a specific format (example given later)

I apply a repetitive task to this system: Example: startup until all statuses are reported, issue shutdown and repeat, this will go on for days without operator intervention. (there are many other tests I do, but this is the one I am testing with the splunk concept)

What I am trying to do (big picture):

1. Index/chop up log files based on testing time period. [testing time period = time operator turns on the script to perform tests until the script is turned off]

2. Index/chop up log files based on cycle. [system startup to shutdown would be one cycle]

3. Index all output messages. [ I will get about 5 cycles per hour with 200-400 time stamped reported events per cycle, unless something unexpected occures]

Goal: find out which events are not supposed to happen and investigate to fix

Types of Outputs: categorize # of specific event_identifier that occur in each cycle to create a baseline/statistical prediction based on event_identifier and event_identifier content. Find errors that reflect a need to fix something.

I am not expecting someone to do my job for me, but more of being lead in the right direction. I am still learning the splunk data mining lingo.

What I am currently doing:

1. I am using the source log file for the cycle period

2. [this is what I can not figure out] For "cycle" I want the cycle to start every time the log outputs an event with a specific message until it sees that same message again.

3. Each event is divided based on example message below, event being from start message to end message

my (users\admin\search\local\props.conf) is as follows:

[Power Cycle]
"EXTRACT-event_source = (?im)^\t(?P<'event_source>[^\t]+)"