Getting Data In

easiest way to detect if splunk forwarder is running on 150 servers

Raghav2384
Motivator

Hey There,
I am new to splunk(Please go easy on my knowledge :)). We have 150 servers that has splunk forwarders on it. We want to check the status of the forwarders(stopped/running) on a regular basis. I know there's a topic around this (check if hosts are sending any events. if no, forwarder isn't running). Big question, how can i be sure that it's forwarder problem and not the host itself? If you can provide a sample search, that'd be great!. Thank you for you time.

Regards,
Raghav

0 Karma
1 Solution

lguinn2
Legend

There is no way in Splunk to tell if a host is up or running. As you pointed out, there are lots of searches to tell if the Splunk forwarder on a host is communicating to the indexers - but not if the host itself is up/down. Here is an example:

Query/Alert to detect if a forwarder stops reporting...

HOWEVER, you could write a script (for Linux, Windows or Python) that runs every few minutes and tests for the status of hosts. For example, the script could output a line for each host like this:

<timestamp> hostname=xyz status=up
<timestamp> hostname=abc status=down

And then you could have Splunk monitor this file and use it to report the status of hosts.

View solution in original post

rameshyedurla
Explorer

try this
| metadata type=hosts
| eval lastHour=relative_time(now(),"-1h@h")
| eval yesterday=relative_time(now(), "-1d@d")
| where ( recentTime>yesterday AND recentTime

somesoni2
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

This is the one which we are using currently.

index=_internal source=*metrics.log group=tcpin_connections earliest=-2d@d 
| eval Host=coalesce(hostname, sourceHost)
| eval age = (now() - _time )   
| stats  min(age) as age, max(_time) as LastTime by Host   
| convert  ctime(LastTime) as "Last Active On"   
| eval  Status= case(age < 1800,"Running",age > 1800,"DOWN") | rename age as Age