Getting Data In

Why are these additional Splunk processes starting and stopping on Windows hosts configured with Universal Forwarders?

TAE2112
Explorer

I have a collection of Windows 2008R2 servers running the Universal Forwarder which I configured to forward Windows Event Logs (Application and System) to a specific index on a dedicated Splunk Indexer server. Because I'm pretty new to Splunk, I'm of the opinion that it's a pretty basic setup, with nothing really fancy going on. I simply installed the Universal Forwarder and (eventually) figured out how to collect the Event logs and send them to the Indexer.

Over the past few weeks, I've been chasing an issue with CPU utilization on a few of these servers (the ones in the "collection") with little luck. The Development group has observed that the process "splunk-admon.exe" has been consuming up to 100% of the CPU on servers where the Universal Forwarders are installed. After sitting on one of the problem servers for a while, I've noticed that in addition to the persistent processes, there are a few Splunk-related processes which keep popping up and then closing:

splunkd.exe (constantly running)
splunk-winevtlog.exe (constantly running)
splunk-MonitorNoHandle.exe (start/stop)
splunk-winprintmon.exe (start/stop)
splunk-netmon.exe (start/stop)
splunk-admon.exe (start/stop)
splunk-regmon.exe (start/stop)

I expected that the splunkd.exe and splunk-winevtlog.exe processes should be running, so no worries there. While I've not observed an instance where a Splunk process will consume 100% of the CPU in the short time I've been monitoring, I do find it unusual to have these other processes start/stop, especially when I've not configured them to do so. I've searched through the Splunk documentation and have not found anything helpful, which is why I'm posting this out to the community.