Getting Data In

What's the best way to get Windows Perfmon data into a Metrics Index?

Tohrment
Path Finder

The question pretty much sums it up.

I am wanting to get PerfMon data into a Metrics index and have been banging my head against it for about a week now. So far, I have been unsuccessful in my endeavor.

I was attempting to get it directly from the universal forwarder, but apparently the data is not formatted properly. I am pretty new to the wide world of Splunk, and have been reading anything I can find even slightly related to this, but there doesn't seem to be much out there as of now.

If there is a better way to do it? I am all ears(or eyes in this case).

Thanks Splunkers.

0 Karma
1 Solution

Tohrment
Path Finder

Ok, so here is where we went wrong and why we weren't getting any metrics in.

1.) INSTALL THE ADD-ON to ALL layers to ensure the proper transforms occur. I was unaware it wasn't on our HF or indexers(we have a guy that runs all that side of things).

2.) Following gjanders link confirmed that I had set up the proper local/inputs.conf stanzas but due to #1 not being done we were not getting data.
Collect perfmon data and wmi:uptime data in metric index

3.) Make sure the entire stack is up to date(at the time of this writing it is 7.2)

Thank you gjanders for pointing me to that link. Literally showed me the last bolt I was missing to make this thing work!

View solution in original post

Tohrment
Path Finder

Ok, so here is where we went wrong and why we weren't getting any metrics in.

1.) INSTALL THE ADD-ON to ALL layers to ensure the proper transforms occur. I was unaware it wasn't on our HF or indexers(we have a guy that runs all that side of things).

2.) Following gjanders link confirmed that I had set up the proper local/inputs.conf stanzas but due to #1 not being done we were not getting data.
Collect perfmon data and wmi:uptime data in metric index