Getting Data In

What is the best architecture setup to handle multiple log sources and apply all data to specific field headers?

bbyttn

Hello - as you may see by my account status, I'm a complete newbie to Splunk.

I apologize for any confusion or use of incorrect terminology. Here's my questions as I've written them down along my journey.

What is the best architecture setup to handle multiple log sources and apply all data to specific field headers? I ask this knowing that I want to first define the fields I want. These fields will be able to cover the vast of incoming log sources, but I know some fields will be null, and that’s ok.

I need this data to be under its respective field at index time ( I think? ), the reason is because I need the data NOT only viewable in the Splunk Web but also need it defined/assigned correctly on the backend for further and separate processing.

Do I need multiple indexers? If so, how do I go about setting this up (step by step please)?
How do I connect a multi system Splunk architecture? tutorial reference should be fine.
How do I ensure specific data is assigned to specific field headers?

0 Karma

hunters_splunk
Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

Hi bbyttn,

You can ingest many different types of logs on a single indexer, and the beauty of Splunk is that you don't need to define your fields ahead of time. Only a few basic fields such as source, sourcetype, host, and time are captured at indexed time, and all other fields can be extracted on-the-fly at search-time.

To understand index time vs. search time, please refer to documentation here:
http://docs.splunk.com/Documentation/Splunk/6.5.1/Indexer/Indextimeversussearchtime

This section gives you an overview of how data moves through Splunk deployments - the data pipeline:
http://docs.splunk.com/Documentation/Splunk/6.5.1/Deploy/Datapipeline

The Search Tutorial may be a good way to get started with using Splunk.