Getting Data In

What are the steps of ingesting data into Splunk cloud?

cyber22
Loves-to-Learn

Can someone walk me through the steps of ingesting data into splunk cloud. I have read the documentation but it gets confusing.

Labels (1)
0 Karma

shubham92
Loves-to-Learn

It totally depends on the log source you are dealing with.

Windows/Linux: Install UF, add Splunk Cloud Credential File. Edit input.conf file if you want to change the Index.

Firewall Logs: If you have a Syslog server in place, install a UF on it and redirect the logs from the Syslog folder to it. If you do not have a Syslog server, you can use a Heavy Forwarder configured as a Syslog Receiver.

Cloud-Based:  Check for supported apps. Most of them support API based integration, which is easy to do. Each app includes the steps to follow.

Let me know if you have any specific devices in question. I am no expert, but will definitely try to help you out.

0 Karma

moliminous
Path Finder

Each data source is different, but I noticed you tagged this for Windows so I'll post this guide:
https://docs.splunk.com/Documentation/SplunkCloud/8.2.2112/Admin/WindowsGDI#Overview

Essentially you login to the Splunk Cloud Search Head, download the Universal Forwarder app and you distribute that app to the /opt/splunkforwarder/etc/apps/ directory of the machines you want to send data to the Cloud.

Depending on your needs and network architecture, it could get more complicated, but that is the simple version.

So each Windows Server would need a Splunk UF (Universal Forwarder) and the Spunk Cloud UF app/ta/add-on (TA stands for Technical Add-on) to be able to send and collect data.

Each data source also needs a configuration telling it what data to collect.
This is often achieved by using a Splunk TA aka add-on on Splunkbase:
https://splunkbase.splunk.com/

You can download the Splunk UF here:
https://www.splunk.com/en_us/download/universal-forwarder.html