Getting Data In

What are some of the best practices of setting up new Splunk servers?

cecampbell
Engager

Hello,

We recently created 5 new Splunk servers with Windows Server 2016 installed, our current deployment is, 2 indexers, 2 search heads, with a deployment server, is this still the ideal setup? I am new to Splunk so just want to make sure we are doing best practice.

Our current setup we have Enterprise Security and Core Splunk both on the search heads.

They all 24 GB of RAM and 6cpu and 6 sockets.

Eventually, I would like to migrate the old data to the new servers and would like to know is that something that should be done?

0 Karma

beatus
Communicator

Cecampbell,
I'd highly recommend you engage Professional services for this. It sounds like you're new to Splunk and ES is a very complicated product. Based on the information you've provided so far, I'm very concerned with your deployment and wouldn't recommend going forward with the path you've laid out. Some additional information would be required to make a final judgement, that said my initial reaction is you're on a path for major pain. Some issues I see so far:

• Below minimum specs for CPU (6 socket systems are not a thing, i'm assuming either single socket or dual socket) / Memory
  • It sounds like ES is installed on both search heads? That's a big issue if so.
  • Windows (Not a deal breaker, but also going to draw flak from others)

Some additional info that would help:
- License size
- Current amount of stored data
- Storage subsystem

Again, I'd HIGHLY recommend engaging Splunk Professional services for this. ES is a complex product, under-sizing it from the get go will be a massive problem. Migrating data is also a complex undertaking with many variables that PS can help with.

0 Karma

cecampbell
Engager

Hello Beatus,

Thanks for the feedback, I will push our team to give more resources.

The ES is only on the 1 search head.