Getting Data In

What are best practices getting data in and updating it (new project)?

neilmac64
Path Finder

I have a project where I want to use a Splunk dashboard to show how some metrics can change over time. The metrics come from a device that we log in to via CLI and run a command to show some stats. I'm new to doing this from scratch with Splunk. I would appreciate any help in understanding the best way to do it.

The workflow is as follows:

• Using a script:
    • script, gain access to the target device
    • run a command that gathers the required data
    • Capture the output
    • Parse/edit to a compatible format
  • Ingest/Import into Splunk
  • Display in Dashboard
  • Update metrics every x minutes (provisinally 15 or 30)

Assuming we have a script that can gather the data, the questions I have are:

1) What's the best format to have the data for Splunk? 

2) What's the best way to get the data into Splunk ?

3) How do I automate this process?

Thanks for any help and guidance.

Labels (4)
0 Karma

neilmac64
Path Finder

I'm running a single instance in Docker. Can you point me to any resources on scripting?

0 Karma

richgalloway
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

I don't have links to resources on scripting in general.  I presumed from the question that writing a script was something you were already prepared to do,  but just didn't know how to interface it with Splunk.

I suggest writing the script in Python because Splunk ships with a Python interpreter.  You can use other languages, but you'll have to install any libraries required by that language.

---
If this reply helps you, Karma would be appreciated.
0 Karma

richgalloway
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

1) This depends on the format in which the data is received from the source, but I prefer Key=Value format.  Splunk has the easiest time parsing that.

2) Run the script as a scripted or modular input.  Whatever the script writes to stdout will be indexed.  Easy.