Getting Data In

Universal Forwarder doesn't forward specific log

misterduke
Explorer

Hello!

It's my first time writing here so forgive me if my question may lack information.

What I want to do: 

I want to execute a batch file via scripted input and write the output of this script into a specific log. then I want to send this log to be indexed in another server. all of this should later on be deployed within an app to a universal forwarder which executes the script, writes the log and sends it to a specific server into a specific index. 

What I've done so far:

I've created an app which as a script in /bin that is basically changing the passwd of the universal forwarder and creating a log in which it echos certain statements. the script itself looks like this: 

#!bin/sh

FILE=/opt/splunkforwarder/etc/passwd

if test -f "$FILE"; then
     echo $(date) " $FILE existiert." >> /opt/splunkforwarder/etc/apps/myapp/logging/changepw.log

#mv /opt/splunkforwarder/etc/apps/myapp/local/inputs.conf /opt/splunkforwarder/etc/apps/myapp/local/inputs.conf.bak
    mv /opt/splunkforwarder/etc/passwd /opt/splunkforwarder/etc/passwd.bak

echo $(date) " $FILE wurde umbenannt und wird neu erstellt.Inputs.conf wurde deaktiviert" >> /opt/splunkforwarder/etc/apps/myapp/logging/changepw.log

/opt/splunkforwarder/bin/splunk restart
else
    echo $(date) " $FILE existiert nicht." >> /opt/splunkforwarder/etc/apps/myapp/logging/changepw.log
fi

so as of now it should do the following:
- check if there is a passwd

- if yes, rename it to passwd.bak , renaming my inputs.conf to inputs.conf.bak (so it uses the inputs.conf in default which has a deactivated scripted input) and then restart splunk. after each previous step it writes a message into changepw.log 

the inputs.conf looks like this: 

[script://./bin/change.sh]
disabled = 0
interval= -1

[monitor:///opt/splunkforwarder/etc/apps/myapp/logging/*]
disabled = 0
index = main

my outputs.conf looks like this:

[tcpout]